

# 1. Purpose

The Tweed Coast and Waterways Committee (TCWC) is the peak strategic–level advisory committee to Tweed Shire Council regarding the ecological health, coastal hazard risk and recreational use of the Tweed coast and waterways. This includes the ocean beaches, estuaries, non tidal tributaries and catchments of Cudgen, Cudgera and Mooball Creeks and the Tweed River. The committee will focus on integrated management, promoting cooperation between community, government and industry.

The TCWC's role is to advise Council on the preparation and implementation of long-term, strategic-level coast and estuary management plans and works. Other Council programs will, on occasion, utilise the TCWC as a consultative forum on relevant issues.

As an advisory committee to Tweed Shire Council, the TCWC can make recommendations to Council but does not have authority to make or enact decisions on behalf of Council. Advisory committees carry no budgetary decision making capabilities.

Key Actions	2016/17	2017/18	2018/19	2019/20
Tweed River Estuary Coastal Management Program	X	X		
(CMP)				
Implementation of Priority Actions in the Tweed River			$\mathbf{X}$	X
Estuary Coastal Management Program				
Preparation of Upper Tweed River Catchment		X	X	
Management Strategy				
Implementation of Priority Actions in the Coastal Zone	X	X	X	X
Management Plan (CZMP) for Tweed Coast Estuaries		_		
Implementation of Priority Actions in the CZMP for Cobaki	X		X	X
and Terranora Broadwaters				
Completion of Environmental Impact Study; seek approval	X	X		
and licence for Sand Extraction Area 5 Tweed River				
Complete Kingscliff CZMP	X			
Implement Priority Actions in the Kingscliff CZMP	X	X	X	X
Develop Tweed Coast Coastal Management Program	X	X	X	X

#### 2. Work Plan for 2016 to 2020

#### 3. Committee Reporting

The committee will report progress to Council via meeting minutes, relevant notes and written recommendations.

#### 4. Membership

Tweed Shire Council has discretion to decide when committees are elected and appointment of committee members. Membership shall be no more than 20 members.

In the current term, TCWC consists of two Tweed Shire Council Councillors, relevant State Government Representatives, Industry and Community members. The senior Tweed Shire Council staff member in attendance is a member of the committee with a voting right. Additional Tweed Shire Council staff convene the meetings and attend as advisors.

# **Tweed Coast and Waterways Committee**

# DRAFT Proposed Terms of Reference (as at 12 October 2016)



Industry and community committee members are to be representative of one or more of the following community stakeholder groups and localities:

- Bushland restoration industry;
- o Agriculture;
- Tweed LandCare Inc.;
- Tweed Byron Local Aboriginal Land Council;
- o Conservation;
- o Fishing / aquaculture;
- o **Boating**;
- o Tourism;
- Tweed Coast locality (3);
- Tweed Heads locality;
- Upper Tweed River locality.

Community representatives are to demonstrate affiliation with and endorsement from local community groups such as community associations, interest or industry groups.

#### 5. Chairperson

The Chairperson shall be elected by the committee at the first meeting and shall fulfil the role for the term of the committee.

#### 6. Quorum

A quorum of the committee shall consist of 50% plus one member. If a quorum is not present within 20 minutes of the time appointed for the commencement of the meeting, the meeting shall lapse.

If a quorum fails after the commencement of the meeting, the meeting shall lapse.

Business that is unfinished at the completion of a meeting may at the discretion of the Chairperson be referred to the next meeting of the Committee.

# 7. Meeting Frequency

Meetings to be held once every two months on the second Wednesday of that month.

# 8. Meeting Venue

Canvas and Kettle Meeting Room, Tweed Shire Council, Murwillumbah or other location as advised.

#### 9. Meeting Duration

Three and a half hours, 9am to 12:30pm.

# 10. Terms of the Committee

The term of the committee shall be concurrent with the term of the Council.

#### Associated documents:

 Tweed Shire Council Code of Meeting Practice (Section 9 – Committees, their Members and Functions)